ajax loader
Click the book icon to navigate table of contents
swipe left & right
to navigate
top guide
Click the book icon to navigate
table of contents
left guide
Click here for
previous articles
right guide
Click here for
next articles
Scroll Down for
Feature article
bottom guide
ajax loader
ajax loader
  • The winners of the 2014 DARCH Horse Awards. Image: Phuong Le.


Held at the Austral Bricks Design Studio in Sydney’s CBD on 27 November 2014, the third DARCH Horse Awards recognised and celebrated outstanding contributions by
non-architects in the pursuit of a high-quality built environment.

Categories in the 2014 DARCH Horse Awards included: Builder; Client; Consultant; Developer; Government Authority; Urban Provocateur; and the new ‘Pinnacle of Promise’, a special 2014 Jury Award. DARCH would like to thank the Institute’s EmAGN and NSW Chapter office; this year’s generous principal partner Austral Bricks; our stallion sponsors Smeg and recruiting expert Hays; and our dedicated jurors, Penny Fuller (Silvester Fuller), Tim Horton (Registrar, NSW Architects Registration Board) and Adam Haddow (SJB Architects). We would also like to thank those that took the time to nominate. The positive energy in the room on the presentation evening was infectious; it has been incredibly rewarding for us here at DARCH to see how well received the awards are, and how they continue to grow each year. For more information, and to find out more about the awards, please visit www.darchhorseawards.comlogo abdigital

DARCH Horse Awards 2014 Winners

Government Authority Award
Kati Westlake of Parramatta City Council
Nominated by Hugo Moline of The Lot

Developer Award
George Karageorge of Stasia
Nominated by Angelo Candalepas

Consultant Award
Damian Hadley of Cantilever
Nominated by Hannah Tribe of Tribe Studio, Chris Rogers of Terroir, and Matt Day of Day Bukh (joint nomination)

Consultant Award
Stephen Choi
Nominated by Mark Jones of Edminston Jones

Consultant Award
Anthony Whealey
Nominated by Shaun Carter of Carterwilliamson

Client Award
Greg Barratt
Nominated by Jim Koopman of AJ+C

Builder Award
David Lakes of Lochbuild
Nominated by Tim Hastwell of JDH Architects

Urban Provocateur Award
John O’Callaghan
Nominated by Jenna Rowe of Terroir

Special Jury Award ‘Pinnacle of Promise’
UrbanGrowth NSW
Nominated by the 2014 Jury